Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Cooking failures

The past two weeks seem to have just flown by. HOW are we only a week away for Christmas??? O_o

Last weekend was an experiment in cooking and it was a bit of a fail.

Saturday I made cottage cheese pancakes.  I had lots of cottage cheese to use up and I only eat it with apples which Princess had kindly eaten all of. The batter was a little thick but no matter what I did I couldn’t stop it from burning on my cast iron frying pan. I switched to a non-stick pan with better results but my kids were not impressed. My mother turned down the batter so I threw it out. What a waste. 😦

On Sunday I tried my hand at crispy oven baked chicken wings. I was hoping for a miracle as I was pondering buying a deep fryer. Which is insane as I have managed to live all my life without one so I really don’t need one.

Anyhoo the recipe is basically coating the wings in baking powder and salt and baking them. I think I used too much baking powder for the amount of chicken wings I had. 😦 Even after coating them with sauce, they still tasted chalky. 😦 We ate them all so it wasn’t a complete waste but I was really hoping for a win with this recipe.

I was also supposed to make beef patties and cheese rolls last weekend but this girl had problems acquiring butter. I missed buying it on several trips out since I didn’t put it on the list. I thought I would remember … I didn’t. All I can do is laugh at myself and learn the lesson and write butter on my list so I don’t forget.

Comments on: "Cooking failures" (2)

  1. At our house we decided to stick to old-favourite meals over the next two weeks to avoid the stress of testing new recipes over the holidays! You were braver than I am!

Leave a Reply

