Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Brain dump

I have so many things in my head to write about and now that I am sitting in front of my computer, my mind has gone blank.

Say what!?!

So here are the bits and pieces that I can remember.

For 2015 I challenged myself to read 20 books and I did it!! YEAH me!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t count any cookbooks I went through but I did count 1 children’s book and 2 essentially picture books (the Humansย of New York books). This year I increased the number to 25. Given that I sort of started a book club I expect that I will be able to fulfill this task.

On the topic of the book club, I started “The Girl on The Train” mid-November. I am struggling with it. I read 2 other books since November … I have 13 days to finish it. Time to put my nose in a book.

I also started “The Life-changing Magic of Tidying Up“.

IMG-20151230-00376

I love the concepts of this book and will try to implement them as soon as I am finish reading. I see a tidied house in my future. ๐Ÿ˜€

For Christmas I received a small purse similar to this one, a few colouring books and some pencil crayons. I forgot how much I love to colour. Princess had her eye on my colouring books so I got her one of her own. Now she’s a happy girl.

I have exercised every day since December 1. Last Friday I stepped on the scale and was not happy. How do I weigh more than usual? Not impressed at all. Then I told myself the old muscle weighs more than fat line. I also took my measurements and even though I feel thinner, I’m about the same size I was in 2012 when I started taking my measurements. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Somebody’s got a lot of work to do.

I tallied up my 2015 budget and it was not pretty. My food spending was out of control. I really need to keep a closer eye on this. Reducing my trips to Costco should help. I am also going to try carrying over any excess or deficiencies month to month and see how that works out. I’m all stocked up with meat so there should be some carry over this month.

I was thinking about doing a no spend challenge for the month but I think I would rather dedicate my energies to tidying and colouring. ๐Ÿ™‚ If I am home decluttering and colouring I can’t be spending money right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments on: "Brain dump" (3)

  1. Well done on reaching 25 books! It’s hard sometimes to keep reading as a focus…25 would have been a good total for me, but I didn’t quite make it that far this year. I still haven’t read the Japanese book, either – I really should!

    My weight is the same as the start of the year – not where I want it but at least not worse than before. I am working really hard on it now that I have time off work till the end of Jan.

    The colouring sounds relaxing and fun! I’ve seen some beautiful ‘Paris’ themed colouring books that I was tempted by!

  2. […] brighter news. I am still on the exercise wagon. I really want to step on the scale but after the last time, I will wait until February 1. I feel stronger and leaner so I’m sticking with […]

Leave a Reply

