Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

The big reveal

So you know how I vague and cryptic on Monday? Well I can now tell you what that’s all about.

Job-Offers

I have been on the hunt for a new job for the past 6+ months. I have applied to what feels like a tonne of jobs, had my fair share of interviews but nothing really felt right.

Until 2 weeks ago when I went for an interview with a company that is just up the street from my home. The interview went really well and it felt so much like a great fit that I actually sent a “real” thank you email. Usually I send a generic thank you, I know shame on me.

Anyhoo, I didn’t hear any thing other than a thank you for my email, so last Thursday I sent a follow up email. The response I got said that they have one more interview to do and if I don’t hear from him by end of day Tuesday to contact them again. The same day I got a phone call from a woman who worked for a company I worked for 10 years ago. We had a long conversation that seemed promising.

On Friday morning the woman called to arrange an in person interview THEN in the afternoon the HR person from the job I wanted called requesting my references and permission to run a background check. 🙂

To give myself options, I went to the interview on Monday morning. By Monday afternoon, I was presented with a job offer but I was still waiting for my preferred company. I had to stall as they wanted me to start on Tuesday. O_o

Yesterday I got a job offer from the company I want!!  Start date is Feb 22.

So this means I am off to MD on Friday. If I hadn’t gotten the job I wanted I would have taken the job offered on Monday which wanted me to start this week.

I am very excited for this new opportunity and can’t wait to get started on this new chapter.

Comments on: "The big reveal" (9)

  1. CONGRATS!!!!!! I’m so happy for you. You are going to have a lot to post about once you start!!!!

  2. Congratulations, Sunny!

  3. Wow! Exciting changes!!! Congratulations – how great is that. I’m a bit confused though – is the job you accepted the one close to home, or the company you used to work for? Nice to have such choices 😀

  4. […] will be going back to MD for my cousin’s ceremony in 6 weeks. I wonder if the new job will give me the time off so I don’t have to do this quick turnaround […]

Leave a Reply

