Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Finally tackled the oven

I am so sore. Partially from working out but mostly from cleaning my oven yesterday. I googled how to clean my oven without harsh chemicals. It led me to spraying my oven with vinegar and water, coating it with baking soda and kosher salt, then spray with vinegar/water again. Walk away for 10 minutes, then scrub away the grime. It worked well on the less stuck on crud but it still required some elbow grease.

IMG-20160313-00452

It didn’t occur to me to take a before photo as you had some idea of how bad it was when the glass dish shattered. I also soaked my oven racks as directed by Jillee, they came out rather nice.

I didn’t get all the gunk off but it is much better than before. My fingertips have stopped hurting, but now my forearms ache. 😦

Comments on: "Finally tackled the oven" (2)

  1. Wow – that oven is so clean! I’ve tried that bicarb + vinegar method before but maybe my oven was Beyond the Beyonds when I started. I couldn’t get it clean. And it nearly killed me with the scrubbing. I’m impressed it worked for you!

Leave a Reply

