Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

I impressed myself

IMG-20160509-00505

So I started a cleanse last week and then cursed myself as it meant I would miss both Cinco de Mayo and Mother’s Day celebrations.

But then I remembered this recipe I have been lusting after, Homemade Burrito Bowls from Iowa Girl Eats. Well I didn’t get it together in time for May 5th or Mother’s Day but it was made and it was lovely.

When I buy meat, I separate it out into cooking portions and vacuum seal it with the help of Diva. I gave her the task of labeling all the packages. She’s gotten a little lazy and now only writes chicken as opposed to chicken thighs or legs.

Anyhoo, I took out what I thought were chicken breasts, only to learn they were boneless, skinless thighs. So I got creative and sliced them, coated them in the seasoning and then sautéed them with onions and green peppers. I was trying to sneak veggies into my kids plate. It worked! 😉

Badda Bing Badda Boom!!

IMG-20160509-00508

Topped my plate with some store bought guacamole and I was in heaven. Both of my girls were also impressed. I may never eat Mexican in a restaurant again. It was very easy to make and very tasty. I could have used a little more pepper but other than that perfection. I highly recommended this recipe. I can’t wait until I am off my cleanse so I can add cheese, jalapeños and sour cream to this mix.

Comments on: "I impressed myself" (4)

  1. It looks good. Thanks for sharing. Good luck with the cleanse.

Leave a Reply

