Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Red Pea Soup

My no spend is not off to the best start as I have already been to the grocery store and then had to go back. My intention was not to stock up but to be more mindful of my spending.

Yesterday I went to get some lettuce and salt fish and came out with more produce and some salsa (not on my list). Under $18 spent but I didn’t check my grocery list and neglected to buy a red pepper and potatoes for my beef soup. 😦 Returned to the store spent an additional $8.50 all due to not paying attention. Not sure why I make lists that I neglect to check but you live and learn.

This is what is called Red Pea Soup. It is a Sunday regular in many Jamaican households.

IMG-20160703-00583

The recipe varies slightly depending on whose house you are in. But it is basically

  • Kidney beans (called red peas in Jamaica)
  • Salt beef
  • Beef ribs (missing from the above pot)
  • Green pepper
  • Red pepper
  • Potato
  • Onion
  • Carrots
  • Thyme
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Scotch bonnet pepper

The above is what my recipe looks like. Very few people in my family, or friends for that matter, measure anything. Makes for never the same pot twice. 🙂

I had a bowl of the soup, but it felt like it was missing something so I added barley. We’ll see how that turns out.

Princess liked it so I should have some help finishing off this big pot. My mom is coming over to help me tame my plants so I’ll be offering her some soup as well.

Comments on: "Red Pea Soup" (2)

  1. Well it’s middle of winter here and bitter cold out…that looks soooo good!

    I would try to make it but I don’t know what ‘salt beef’ is? It’s not a familiar name here.

    Do you know how to make it just from a family tradition…or are you from a Jamaican background? I don’t remember ever reading anything about that!

Leave a Reply

