Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Last week’s happenings

Let’s see where did we leave off? Ah yes the missed Maxwell concert. I did speak to my “friend” and his take on it was since I had secretly put my ticket back into the envelope with his ticket, he took that to mean that I was not interested in going.  He didn’t seem to understand why I might be upset.

So my perceived actions hold more weight that my words. Duly noted. We have had no words since that conversation on Wednesday. Knowing him like I do, it will be a while before he contacts me and I refuse to contact him. Not out of spite or because I am still upset, but more so because I felt hurt and wanted that feeling acknowledged and it was not.

The past work week was full of drama. There were lots of tears at work. My office roomie has been in a rut the past 5+ weeks and she is extremely negative. Any time she is involved in a closed door meeting with someone in management it usually ends up with her in tears. She says she’s just one of those people who “tears up” when she’s angry. I’m not so sure. Other coworkers who have been in the company longer than I have tell me this is just how she is.

She’s very unhappy at work and her energy is just draining. I am a very positive person but I find myself avoiding her as it’s just easier for me. I can’t win an “argument” when most of her “evidence” is from before my time.

Our manager and the new VP are working very hard to change the corporate culture and she just keeps prattling on about how it will never happen. Since I started I have seen a change. It is small but moving in the right direction.

On Friday I told my roomie if she isn’t job searching she should start as she is clearly not happy. She says she is but hasn’t seen anything that catches her eye. I hope she finds something soon as it is not healthy to live like she does.

On Wednesday, there was an incident where we were all in a meeting in my manager’s office and the old team manager asked the newest member for the price of an item (which she would not know off the top of her head having been there less than 3 weeks). Being put on the spot embarrassed the new lady. This was witnessed by the assistant to our company’s general manager, who deemed it inappropriate. This lead to a closed door meeting with the assistant, current dept manager, VP and new team member.

Before this meeting, I was in the kitchen with another coworker and the new lady came in and was basically shaking she was so mad. There were tears.

Thursday morning found the new girl in my office talking exchanging stories of misery with my roomie. I’m too old for all of this.

Comments on: "Last week’s happenings" (4)

  1. It is bad news for a brand new employee to get sucked into the old negative culture. You are sensibly protecting yourself!

  2. I hear you on the feeling hurt, wanting it acknowledged and it’s not. It makes me think of that whole analogy of ’emotional bank deposits’ and ’emotional bank withdrawals.’ It just leaves you feeling cold when people do that.

    Yes, very wise to steer clear of the negativity, as much as you can. It can be really hard not to be ‘sucked in’ to the vortex of discussing it when people try to draw you in. I hate being pulled into those conversations and it always just saps your time at work and mostly achieves nothing good. It doesn’t seem a healthy dynamic when the new employee was pulled into a meeting over all that straight away. Just inflames the situation!

  3. […] was another incident yesterday between the old manager and the new girl. This lead to the new girl making comments […]

Leave a Reply

