Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

2016 Sealed Pot

Every year I throw my change into a “sealed pot” as a way of saving for Christmas. Usually I open and cash out in early December but as I did my Christmas shopping throughout the year I was able to squeeze it into my regular budget. Also I didn’t think it would be as much as previous years as I was using plastic more than cash.

Anyhoo, on the the reveal.

Some days I really am not the sharpest crayon in the box. Every year I weigh my sealed pot on my bathroom scale and it is a challenge.

There were more attempts which makes this next shot proof that I need to wear my thinking cap more often.

IMG_0051.JPG

First and only shot on my kitchen scale. Why did I not think of this before?

Last weekend I took my sealed pot to the local bank where I previously threw the contents into their coin machine and presto change-o, a slip of paper with the grand total. Guess what is no longer there? Yup, the coin counter.So in the week I had to get coin wrappers.

img_0052

Looks impressive, right?

img_0055

Now to sort it all.

img_0056

Top pile is “twoonies” which are 2 dollar coins, next “loonies”; 1 dollar coins, then quarters, dimes and nickels with a small amount of pennies, mostly American as Canada got rid of the penny years ago.

Any guesses as to how much is here?

Comments on: "2016 Sealed Pot" (4)

  1. I’m terrible at guessing games but it definitely looks like at least a couple of hundred there. Well done! I haven’t actually blogged my sealed pot for the last couple of years, even though I’m pretty sure I took photos. Really should do it sometime.

    Top tip for weighing stuff (if it won’t fit on your kitchen scales) – weigh yourself. Then pick up whatever it is you want to weigh and weigh yourself and it together. Some simple subtraction will tell you the weight of the item. Disclaimer: I didn’t figure this out myself, my sister did it when helping me to pack and we were trying to make sure boxes weren’t too heavy. I had already spent a week trying to balance moving boxes in such a way as to still be able to see the display on the scales!

  2. I am so impressed that you saved toonies and loonies instead of spending them throughout the year! Between $100 and $200? What are your plans?!

Leave a Reply

