Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Work update

Sometimes I really love my friends. One of my oldest friends sent me a text last week to let me know her workplace is hiring. I immediately sent her my resume. We went back and forth regarding some of the details of the job and the company. I told her my salary range and that I was flexible and the HR rep from her company still sent me an email inquiring about coming in for an interview.

I am fairly sure the position will pay less than my current gig. How much less remains to  be seen. I am trying to figure out how much of a salary cut I am willing to do. My main focus is the ability to grow, short term pain for long term gain. 😉

There are other benefits that might make a pay cut acceptable, such as retirement contributions matching and profit sharing. It is further away (20 mins vs my current 10) and would take me back to 2 weeks vacation …

I have given either Tuesday or Wednesday as options for the interview and will probably take the day off. I need a break. Last week was incredibly frustrating as it was determined that I must get a laptop even though I will never take it home. I live 10 minutes away and am a workaholic. I don’t see a time/day that I could not make it into work. What I can reasonably see is that I would start working from home and making my days even longer. No thanks.

Back to the new laptop which was not set up when I came into work … 😡 Couple that with we are doing renovations and needed to pack up and empty our desks so the new carpet could be installed over the weekend. I took everything I owned home. I am mentally done.

I hope when I get my next job offer I can give more than two weeks notice as it does take long to find acceptable candidates. One of my team members is leaving and has told our manager. My manager can not start interviewing until my coworker hands in her written resignation.

The madness continues. I hope this week’s interview will being positive results. Wish me luck!

 

Comments on: "Work update" (2)

  1. All the best, Sunny! Sounds like a good trade-off.

Leave a Reply

