Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

I’m in a good place

Life is just humming along. I don’t know if it’s old age or I am just having fun but time seems to be flying.

I seem to talk to my old coworkers more now that I did when I worked with them. Their work situation seems to keep getting worse. Last Wednesday, the marketing person gave notice. She has nothing lined up but was feeling overwhelmed and taken advantage of and just reached her breaking point.

On Friday, one of my old team members handed in her letter of resignation. The VP managed to talk her off the ledge by taking her on a guilt trip and promising that things will get better. She has agreed to stay until the end of July.

The manager has been off for over a week on stress leave. To compensate, the VP has promoted the team member that was hired after me. Apparently on Friday, every member of the team went into the VP’s office to express their dismay over the promotion. Especially since the VP would like to change moral and as per my old coworkers, the promoted one was one of the most negative in the place.

Needless to say this did not go over well with the new team leader and I got an earful. Poor girl. To top it off this “promotion” came with no training or additional salary, but a promise to revisit in 3 months. O_o

I feel very fortunate to be out of that environment.

For everyone still working there I really hope that there is a big shake up and improvements are really made.

Comments on: "I’m in a good place" (3)

  1. Glad you are out of there and able to give some moral support!

    • Me too. It still breaks my heart. But I also have friends outside of work who keep reminding me that my old coworkers have the option of looking for other work and leaving too.

  2. […] a cafeteria and I can get good, fresh, healthy food for $6. Or that since I changed jobs, I am in a much better place mentally and want to see my friends. […]

Leave a Reply

