Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

I’m back!!

I miss this space and am going to make an honest attempt to get back to here more often.

I have been out enjoying the summer and it is now winding down so I should have some time to write again. There has also been some reading. 🙂 I’m on track to reach my Goodreads goal of 25 books this year. Go me!!

Over the summer I have had the opportunity to visit/meet up with various friends and family. Great for my spirit, not so good for my wallet.

A couple of years (dang way too long), back I started an impromptu book club and I let it fall by the wayside. I will be reviving some sort of monthly or bi-monthly get together with my friends and family.

This will also get me to deep clean my place a lot more often. 😉 I just need to settle on my living room arrangement. A reorganization of my furniture is long overdue. I would like to change my TV stand and have been going back and forth with myself as there is nothing wrong with my  current one. However, I would like something with drawers to store my DVDs in to reduce the visual clutter.

I am slowly getting rid of things that are just taking up space. I am having honest conversations with myself regarding the likeliness that I really need all these things. It is a work in progress.

I have put off my kitchen renovation until spring. I would like to have less before I start as I will have to store everything in my kitchen throughout the rest of my place and that is a bit overwhelming right now.

Next year will be an expensive year as not only do I want to do these renos, I also want to travel. I have a cousin in Portland who teases me with the most gorgeous scenery pics. A visit is long overdue. To assist with this I am looking for a part time job. Not sure how successful this will be as I only want to work 1 or 2 nights in the week and on the weekends. I have applied to a few places and fingers crossed I can find a company that works with my lifestyle.

I was inspired by one of my cousin’s who managed to work a full time and a near full time part time job in order to come up with the down payment for her house. She has young-ish children and made it work for the year. My kids are pretty much grown. Diva will be 18 next month, so I have a lot of  some extra time which could be best used to make extra cash.

This is my short term plan; declutter, work more, exercise, repeat. Short term pain for long term gain.

Comments on: "I’m back!!" (3)

  1. I can’t remember if you’re a member of forums on mrmoneymustache.com or not. If so, there is a journal there called pbkmaine’s cheap style where she and the hive mind come up with great ideas for layout and cheap solutions to your interior design needs. If you need some outside input, you could try there.

  2. Welcome back and good luck with finding a second job. I agree that I am much more motivated to clean house when I know people are coming over!

Leave a Reply

